Speechless, thanks to Begum Akhtar

Posted: March 6, 2010 in I Myself, Music
Tags: , , , , , ,

Begum Akhtar, 1914-1974

First, the words:

Aye mohabbat tere anjaam pe rona aaya
Jaane kyon aaj tere naam pe rona aaya

Yun toh har shaam ummido mein guzar jaati hai
Aaj kuchh baat hai jo shaam pe rona aaya

Kabhi taqdeer ka matam kabhi duniya ka gila
Manzil-e-ishq mein har gaam pe rona aaya

Jab hua zikr zamane mein mohabbat ka Shakeel
Mujh ko apne dil-e-nakaam pe rona aaya

Then, the song.

Lyrics: Shakeel Badayuni
Vocalist: Begum Akhtar

This is one of Begum Akhtar’s most popular ghazals. I myself have heard it innumerable times, but never paid attention to the lyrics, for some strange reason. Until I heard it once again yesterday, on a mobile phone.

How I wish I had continued to remain inattentive.

The next time anyone uses the term ‘heartbreak’, think of the words above, though I may have got one or two wrong. And how aptly they describe Akhtari Bai Faizabadi’s tormented life.

Shakeel Badayuni, I dare not applaud you. Will tears do?

Add to Technorati Favorites

Comments
  1. Kausik says:

    ah! ki bhalo likhish re tui!
    oh! ki sob bondhu!! bhableo gabbo hoy. 🙂

  2. siddharth says:

    I was good to be remined of the song. I like her singing.

Leave a Reply

