Mithya: The Truth?

Posted: February 9, 2008 in Bollywood, Movies
Tags: , , ,

As I emerged from the theatre after watching Mithya, I made two promises: a) I would henceforth watch everything that Rajat Kapoor directs; b) I would henceforth watch everything that Ranvir Shorey features in.

It is admittedly too early to tell, but Mithya is likely to find pride of place in many top 10 lists, if only for the performances. It has been aeons since I have come upon acting of this calibre — from the entire cast — in a Hindi film. In fact, the only two offhand examples I can think of are Jaane Bhi Do Yaaro and Masoom. I am talking about the entire cast here, you understand, and not just a couple of actors. From start to finish, it is impossible to spot a weak link in the performances. They blend seamlessly and flawlessly into each other.

I would have said the same about the script (Kapoor-Saurabh Shukla) had it not been for the Neha Dhupia bit at the end and the bit about where the two are allowed to run after Neha has killed an important gangster.

But I’m quibbling. And splitting hairs. What I should be doing is thanking Messrs Kapoor and Shukla for coming up with such a taut, racy, unpredictable, disturbing script. I hope to God it’s original, too. It would be devastating to discover later that what the two men have given us is actually a copy of some French film somewhere.

What Mithya has done is become the first genuine Hindi black comedy since Jaane Bhi Do Yaaro. And during its 100-minute run, the film raises enough questions about morality, fate, love, friendship, crime, and hate to last about seven full-length films. Unravelling all of that is likely to take you a lifetime, too.

I haven’t given you a Mithya plot summary here. So anyone reading has to watch the film. Or you could go to the official site of the film’s producer Planman Motion Pictures, but not advisable. All I want to tell you is that do not believe the fools who tag it a ‘comedy’ just because the team contains many of the Bheja Fry gang.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Leave a Reply

